Friday, 29 February 2008

Special Character Commitment

The annual commissioning mass for Southland Catholic Schools was held on Thursday 28th February at the Basilica. Bishop Colin asked our representatives to reaffirm the College’s commitment to Catholic Education and our Special Character mission.

EHSAS Launch

The last week has had a professional development focus for staff at the College. Tuesday afternoon saw over 200 teachers gather in the James Hargest College hall to launch the EHSAS project. The key note speaker was Dr Julia Atkin who highlighted some of the challenges faced by teachers in 2008. She made the point that each teacher needs to reflect on and question their classroom practice if we are going to meet the needs of all students. The University of Otago advisory service is looking at student Literacy. Results from our ASTTLE data show that levels are holding back many student’s achievement in a range of subjects—not just English. Our staff are developing practical steps to improve this situation.

Netball Stars

Kendall McMinn, Whitney Areaiiti and Alysse Riach have been selected as part of the 14 strong netball team to represent Southland in the inaugural Lois Muir Challenge which will be held in Christchurch next month. Kendall will also trial for the New Zealand Secondary Schools team in April.

Sunday, 24 February 2008

Softball - Representative Honours

The Under 15 Southland team came 2nd in the South Island tournament held in Blenhiem during Jan 2008. Grayson McCulloch, Gage Harris-Fletcher and Tauira Patterson were selected in the SI team. Ross McCulloch coaches the team.

Congratulations to Tauira Patterson who has been selected for the New Zealand Under 15 development team that will compete in Australia in June.

Athletics Results

One school record was broken in the under 12 boy’s high jump.
Kayne Duggan jumped 1.29m to break the old record of 1.25m previously held by Levi Anderson.

The final house placings were

1st Marcellin 933 points
2nd Catherine 726 points
3rd Marian 665 points
4th Dominic 590 points

Congratulations to Marcellin

Championship Winners

Yr 7 & 8 Boys Michael O’Reilly Girls Angela Buckingham

Under 14 Boys Tauira Patterson Girls Grace Dunne

Under 15 Boys Isaac Fleury Girls Katie Telfer

Senior Boys Thomas Hildebrand Girls Courtney Jones

Tuesday, 19 February 2008

Sports Day

The 2008 Sports Day photos are now online! Click on the photo on the right to go to the online album.